Featured Post

CBS Daytme Renewed

The CBS network announced earlier today that everything daytime is coming back for the 2019-2020 season.

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Thoughts on Daytime Emmy Nominations 2019

On Wednesday, March 20, 2018 Emmyonline.com posted the 46th annual drama performer nominations. The winners again will be decided based on who got the most votes during prenominations. Major categories were announced on "The Talk", which got eight nominations. Below is the list and my thoughts on those who were included this year.

All four soap operas: "The Bold and the Beautiful", "Days of Our Lives", "General Hospital", and "The Young and the Restless" were nominated for best show, writing, and direction, so nothing exciting to be seen here.  In original song, Y&R had one entry, B&B had one, and Days had one. They are competing with two songs from a web show called "Giants" and the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade.

The major award nominations were shown on "The Talk" in two video segments.

The first was for the soap nominations. All of the acting awards were mentioned (which used to not happen, and the best show.)

The second was for the other major show related awards (for talk, game, morning, and news programming.)

When it comes to the show totals:

  • B&B - 12 (last year they had 18)
  • Days - 27 (last year they had 25)
  • GH - 25 (last year they had 26)
  • Y&R - 20 (last year they had 25)

The game show categories has John Michael Higgins for GSN's America Says, Alex Trebek for Jeopardy!, Wayne Brady for Let's Make a Deal, Pat Sajak for Wheel of Fortune, and Chris Harrison for Who Wants to be a Millionaire. The best game shows were Family Feud, Jeopardy!, LMAD, The Price is Right, and WWTBAM. Wayne Brady and Price is Right won last year.

Seeing how in the main categories only two actresses were included from B&B, I'm a bit horrified. The pre-nom process was supposed to make it less likely for this to happen. Guess it doesn't work anymore...

Lead Actress
Marci Miller (Abigail, Days)
Heather Tom (Katie, B&B)
Maura West (Ava, GH)
Jacqueline MacInnes Wood (Steffy, B&B)
Laura Wright (Carly, GH)

Last year's winner Eileen Davidson for Ashley on Y&R wasn't nominated. If Marci or Jacqui win we would have a new winner in this category.

Lead Actor
Maurice Benard (Sonny, GH)
Peter Bergman (Jack, Y&R)
Tyler Christopher (Stefan, Days)
Billy Flynn (Chad, Days)
Jon Lindstrom (Ryan/Kevin, GH)

Last year's winner James Reynolds (Abe, Days) isn't in the field. Peter Bergman now has more Daytime Emmy nominations than Susan Lucci, but he has two awards. Tyler won for another role, Billy and Jon never won.

Supporting Actress
Kassie DePaiva (Eve, Days)
Linsey Godfrey (Sarah, Days)
Martha Madison (Belle, Days)
Beth Maitland (Traci, Y&R)
Mishael Morgan (Hilary, Y&R)
Vernee Watson (Stella, GH)

Last year's winner Camryn Grimes (Mariah on Y&R) isn't included, Beth Maitland won an Emmy decades ago, and Vernee won a guest actor award.

Supporting Actor
Max Gail  (Mike, GH)
Bryton James (Devon, Y&R)
Eric Martsolf (Brady, Days)
Greg Rikaart (Leo, Days)
Dominic Zamprogna (Dante, GH)

Last year's winner Greg Vaughn (Eric on Days) isn't nominated, Max Gail has never been nominated in this category.

Younger Actress
Hayley Erin (Kiki, GH)
Olivia Rose Keegan (Claire, Days)
Victoria Konefal (Ciara, Days)
Chloe Lanier (Nelle, GH)
Eden McCoy (Josslyn, GH)

Last year's winner was Chloe Lanier, so she could repeat, though every other category, last year's winner was not included.

Younger Actor
Lucas Adams (Tripp, Days)
William Lipton (Cameron, GH)
Kyler Pettis (Theo, Days)
Garren Stitt (Oscar, GH)
Zach Tinker (Fenmore, Y&R

Last year's winner Rome Flynn (Zende on B&B) has left that show and appears in Shondaland. Only Lucas Adams was nominated last year of this group.

The guest category nominees are:

Philip Anthony-Rodriguez (Miguel, Days)
Patricia Bethine (Mary, GH)
Wayne Brady (Dr. Buckingham, B&B)
Kate Mansi (Abigail, Days)
Thaao Penghlis (Andre, Days)

Vernee Watson won last year, and she is in the supporting category this year. In the past, people were only eligible if their character was new, but that has changed, and any short-term role can be included, even if someone was guesting or on just part of the year.

Congrats to the nominees, I hope we get to see the reels soon. The show will be the first weekend in May, the lifetime achievements are going to a chef Jacques Pepin and a judge: Judge Judy Sheindlin and  and will be live streamed again though through an official website, Facebook, and Twitter. Hopefully they will keep it online for later viewing, and provide a better feed for the technical awards and pre-show.

No comments: